Protest the Hero -- Toronto, Ontario -- December 27th, 2014
Marduk -- NorrkŲping, Sweden -- December 19th-20th, 2014
Despised Icon -- Worcester, MA -- December 21st, 2014
Cormorant -- San Francisco, CA -- December 20th, 2014

Go Back   WWW.METALSETLISTS.COM > Community Forums > General Chat

Old 08-02-2010, 07:34 AM
A Pathetic. Excuse. For a Human Being.

Metalcore and Other Forms of False Metal

I've never really been vocal about my disdain for metalcore and other forms of false metal until now, having had some time to reflect on my trip to Mayhem fest. The reason is because when I was in high school and younger, I listened to some gay ass music. Although I had thrash pretty much locked down, I was a Death Metal noob and the same goes for Black, Grind, Doom, etc. One minute I'd be listening to Morbid Angel, then I'd be at a party playing Alive or Just Breathing by Killswitch. Eventually I went to college and learned more about metal in one afternoon than I knew in my entire life previous to that day. So the Metalcore and Cock Rock was sort of a stepping stone.

Now, I don't want to be a dick, but I have to wonder in the age of instant gratification technology how the fuck can anybody in their right fucking mind pick up this bullshit metalcore scene shit and like it? It takes literally 5 minutes to find a musically superior band than the one you like that has a funny ironic name, and it wont be gimmick laden talentless shit either! Again, I understand that music tastes are subjective, and you can flame away for saying "musically superior" but I can't help it when I see a band like FFDP or hear people talk about how sicknasty Blowjob For a Cockboy is. There's way too much good shit coming out now to be wasting time on that bullshit.

And that's not getting into the classics.

It boils down to this:
Chosing metalcore or other forms of false metal is like chosing to jerk off instead of getting laid.
Old 08-02-2010, 07:58 AM
Banned Asshole