Raven -- Fullerton, CA -- October 23rd, 2014
King Diamond -- Denver, CO -- October 24th, 2014
Pallbearer -- Toronto, Ontario -- October 24th, 2014
Judas Priest -- Evansville, IN -- October 22nd, 2014
Pearl Jam -- Denver, CO -- October 22nd, 2014

Go Back   WWW.METALSETLISTS.COM > Community Forums > Album Reviews

Old 08-17-2009, 03:15 PM
We're dying on the inside

Year-end list toppers from years past: still #1?

I've been making year-end lists on the IMBB and on here since 2004, so I decided to remember what I had at #1 each year and see if that's still true. I'm curious to see everyone else's, because I know most of us have been posting our lists to the internet for at least that long:

2004:
Then: Iced Earth- The Glorious Burden
Now: Mastodon- Leviathan

Leviathan was only my #2 when I made this list because I had only been into metal for a little over a year and was still pretty much steeped in the traditional stuff. Mastodon challenged some boundaries and I wasn't as comfortable with that as I was with Iced Earth, so Mastodon have certainly eclipsed them since.

2005:
Then: Opeth- Ghost Reveries
Now: Opeth- Ghost Reveries

Yeah, I'll stand behind this one. This one still has a special place as my first Opeth album, of course, which might be part of this, but it's a really great disc.

2006:
Then: Mastodon- Blood Mountain
Now: Mastodon- Blood Mountain/The Decemberists- The Crane Wife

I think Blood Mountain is still very, very close to dominating this year, but I'd argue that this Decemberists record is the best indie rock record ever made, and has a favorite all-time song of mine, "The Island", which doesn't hurt. Cop-out, but whatever.

2007:
Then: Porcupine Tree- Fear of a Blank Planet
Now: Porcupine Tree- Fear of a Blank Planet/Tegan and Sara- The Con

Another cop-out. Best prog album since the 1970s and best pop album (and second-best indie record) ever. Can't really choose.

2008:
Then: Fleet Foxes- Fleet Foxes