View Single Post
Old 08-25-2013, 03:37 PM
DisposableJustice's Avatar
DisposableJustice DisposableJustice is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,302
Slipknot- Iowa

1. "(515)" (Intro) 0:59
2. "People = Shit" 3:35
3. "Disasterpiece" 5:08
4. "My Plague" 3:40
5. "Everything Ends" 4:14
6. "The Heretic Anthem" 4:14
7. "Gently" 4:54
8. "Left Behind" 4:01
9. "The Shape" 3:37
10. "I Am Hated" 2:37
11. "Skin Ticket" 6:41
12. "New Abortion" 3:36
13. "Metabolic" 3:59
14. "Iowa" 15:04

HOLY shit was this an aggressive album; no not just aggressive album, Iowa punched you teeth in and laughed as you counted what you had left. In 2001 I had heard of Slipknot from their debut album and I liked some of the music ok but I was laughing at the whole mask and jumpsuit thing. But then a friend loaned me this and I was blown away; it has been said during the recording of Iowa that it was a very dark time for Slipknot and was a lot of in-fighting among the 9 members. Well all that anger turned into Gold as almost every track on Iowa pounds your senses and does not let up; shit the first song (not counting the intro) is called People=Shit; it is quite hard not to be more in your damn face than that

I consider myself a casual fan of Slipknot; I do like some of the stuff from the other 3 albums but not of those I feel even come close to the aggression this one offers; IMO, Slipknot slowly went downhill after this and never caught that fire they had here. To this today I enjoy songs like People=Shit, Left Behind, Disasterpiece, Gently, and the title track as much as I did 11 years ago.

today's score 9/10
10/29-King Diamond/Exodus
11/7-Machine Head
11/11-Blind Guardian
11/21-Trans-Siberian Orchestra
Reply With Quote