PDA

View Full Version : Zomg! New songs!

EvilCheeseWedge
04-22-2007, 10:13 PM
Hey folks, it's that time again... yep, time for me to fling my band's crap at you! One of the guys bought a ProTools rig, so we took it for a test toast today on two songs. These are pretty rough...

1. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie (http://baptizedbyfiremusic.com/media/042207dogs.mp3)
2. Messiah (http://baptizedbyfiremusic.com/media/042207messiah.mp3)

There's plenty I'm not happy with yet (as far as performance and production is concerned) but what do you think so far?

hot_turkey_ed
04-22-2007, 10:28 PM
Dogs > Messiah

Dogs is Priest-like. :fist:

Messiah reminds more of a Whitesnake beat. Also :fist: but... I'm not an audio engineer but it sounds like something is missing from Messiah. There's this hole betweent the bass and guitars... and your vocalist doesn't fill it... gets better during the solo though. Coming out of the solo... Hmm... maybe it just needs to be a little more balanced for my ears.

EvilCheeseWedge
04-22-2007, 10:40 PM
Dogs > Messiah

Dogs is Priest-like. :fist:

Messiah reminds more of a Whitesnake beat. Also :fist: but... I'm not an audio engineer but it sounds like something is missing from Messiah. There's this hole betweent the bass and guitars... and your vocalist doesn't fill it... gets better during the solo though. Coming out of the solo... Hmm... maybe it just needs to be a little more balanced for my ears.
Hey, thanks for the compliment. Dogs is actually one of my songs (musically) and I thought the same thing... reminded me of an old school Priest/Maiden vibe. I'm not really thrilled with this version, or my playing... it's a new song and didn't have a solo and they only let me do one take :lol:

You're right. I feel like it's really bottom heavy. It's good to get these responses, because I'm not the one mixing. I tend to yell and whine about stuff a lot (turn that down, less this, more that) so I get ignored pretty fast :lol:

EvilCheeseWedge