View Full Version : New Mushroomhead album to be released in May

Travis The Dragon
02-14-2014, 01:54 PM
From: http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/mushroomhead-to-release-the-righteous-the-butterfly-in-may/
MUSHROOMHEAD, the influential industrial metal band from Cleveland, Ohio, will release its eighth studio album, "The Righteous & The Butterfly", on May 13 via Megaforce Records. Recorded in Cleveland, the band produced the record with longtime co-producer Bill Korecky. The CD consists of 14 tracks, ranging from songs about survival and balance ("Devils Be Damned", "Qwerty", "Son Of 7") to emotionally charged anthems ("For Your Pleasure", "Worlds Collide") to a riff-heavy rendition of Adele's No. 1 hit "Rumor Has It".

MUSHROOMHEAD is comprised of drummers Skinny, Robert Diablo and Stitch; vocalists J Mann, Jeffery Nothing and Waylon; guitarist Church; keyboardist Schmotz; and bassist Dr. F.

The album's title, "The Righteous & The Butterfly", is a dedication to original guitarist J.J. Righteous and the band's former photographer (and drummer Steve "Skinny" Felton's wife) Vanessa Solowiow, who both passed away too soon.

"J.J. was a key member of our band," says Skinny. "He played on the first three records and Vanessa was our photographer and the mother of my children. They were both huge pieces of MUSHROOMHEAD and this record is dedicated to them."

"The Righteous & The Butterfly" marks the return of vocalist J Mann and the debut of new guitarist Church and bassist Dr. F.

"This album damn near wrote itself," proclaims Skinny. "With J Mann's return, this album is a fresh twist on a familiar vibe. It's also the first album with Church and Dr. F. They brought in fresh blood while keeping the integrity of the band's sound and vision intact.

"This is the 20th year of MUSHROOMHEAD and this album is us getting back to our roots."

"The Righteous & The Butterfly" track listing:

01. Our Apologies
02. How Many Times
03. Devils Be Damned
04. Qwerty
05. Portraits Of The Poor
06. Childlike
07. This Cold Reign
08. We Are The Truth
09. Son Of 7
10. For Your Pleasure
11. Worlds Collide
12. Graveyard Du Jour
13. Out Of My Mind
14. Rumor Has It

MUSHROOMHEAD will be touring extensively in 2014 to support the effort.


It'll be great to hear some new stuff with J Mann back in the band! And I can't believe all the supportive comments on Blabbermouth! Over 70 of them! I had no idea they were that well liked amongst BM members. That's great to see!

John The Drummer
02-14-2014, 02:11 PM
Dare I say..... Blabbermouth members > Metal-Archives members????!!!!?!?!


02-14-2014, 02:13 PM
Metal Archive members always seem much more learn-ned than Blabbermouth, too learn-ned.

02-14-2014, 04:17 PM
I think I have more interest in this then the last album souly because J-Mann is on it

02-15-2014, 05:29 AM
Artwork is a bit lame, but I have good hopes for this one.

Travis The Dragon
04-16-2014, 05:18 PM
Here's Qwerty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CT653bCgkq4 It's pretty good!

04-16-2014, 06:13 PM
rip in piece payl grayson

Travis The Dragon
04-25-2014, 06:12 PM
Audio samples of the entire album: http://mp3clan.com/mp3/mushroomhead_The_Righteous___the_Butterfly.html

Travis The Dragon
05-05-2014, 02:22 PM
The album is "out and about".

05-05-2014, 02:38 PM
I've never listened to Mushroomhead before but the song Our Apologies is pretty good.

05-05-2014, 02:59 PM
Man I loved their s/t and Superbuick in high school. Never listened to the albums with the new singer.