PDA

View Full Version : Death -- San Antonio, TX -- October 12th, 1990

Zla Vydra
04-05-2013, 06:49 AM
I was a sophomore at the University of Texas and the host of the metal show on the campus radio station at the time. I had set up an interview with Martin van Drunen of Pestilence, so a (non-metalhead) friend and I headed down to San Antonio early to check out the show and hang with the bands.

The Showcase Theatre (or Event Center, or something like that) is no longer with us, but it was a pretty cool place to see a show. It was sort of typical of a Texas venue at the time – a non-descript hall in a strip center on the outskirts of the city. I had seen Death and Devastation there about 6 months before, and both bands had been on-point, so I was psyched to see Chuck and co. again, but not nearly as pumped as I was to see the Euro Death gods Pestilence.

So we got there, chatted with Pestilence's tour manager, who I think was Graham van ter Heege (still remember that...), and were introduced to van Drunen, who is just pretty much the coolest dude ever. We headed back to the tour bus (Surprisingly nice. Roadracer must have thrown some $$ at them.) where there were death metal groupies everywhere (not really) to do the interview on one of those old tape recorders (1990, baby). I remember talking about emerging death and grindcore bands like Napalm Death and Morbid Angel, his opinion on the “scene” and all sorts of crap like that. Anyway, out of the other dudes, Uterwijk and Foddis were quiet, and Mameli seemed like a douche. I guess that's not shocking.