View Full Version : WHOCARES album to be released in June

05-04-2012, 08:03 AM
WHOCARES, for those who don't remember, was the new project featuring Tony Iommi, Ian Gillan, Nicko McBrain, Jon Lord, Linde Lindstrom and Jason Newsted. They recorded two brand new songs and released them as a charity single to raise money for a music school in Armenia.

Sadly, this album isn't a brand new studio albums, it's a compilation of stuff from Gillan and Iommi.

Tracklisting hasn't been finalised, but it will include:

The two original WHOCARES songs
Two unreleased Iommi/Hughes songs
A Repo Depo song (band Ian Gillan formed before the Deep Purple reunion - never released)
An unreleased Deep Purple studio jam called 'Dick Pimple'
Unconfirmed "obscure collaborations", rare 7" b-sides, live radio performances etc.

European release is June 22, which presumably means UK on June 25 and US on June 26.

05-04-2012, 08:20 AM
Dick Pimple, just what I've always wanted to hear.:lol: Sounds interesting though.

05-04-2012, 08:27 AM
I think I've heard Dick Pimple before. It's never been officially released on a Deep Purple record, but it has been available on bootlegs etc. Deep Purple studio jams are, with the exception of Son of Aleric, always boring though.

I'm more interested in the Iommi/Hughes songs and the live recordings.

06-21-2012, 04:34 AM
Confirmed tracklist:

WhoCares - 'Out Of My Mind' (first time on an album featuring Jon Lord, Linde Lindström, Jason Newsted, Nicko McBrain)
Black Sabbath- 'Zero The Hero'
Ian Gillan featuring Iommi, Ian Paice and Roger Glover - 'Trashed'
M. Rakintzis featuring Ian Gillan - 'Get Away' (first release on a Gillan album, only released in Greece before)
Tony Iommi featuring Glenn Hughes - 'Slip Away' (first time on CD)
Gillan - 'Don’t Hold Me Back'
Ian Gillan - 'She Thinks It’s A Crime' (vinyl single B-side, first time on CD)
Repo Depo featuring Ian Gillan - 'Easy Come, Easy Go' (previously unreleased)
Deep Purple featuring Ronnie James Dio - 'Smoke On The Water' (live with the Royal Philaarmonic Orchestra)

WhoCares - 'Holy Water' (first time on an album featuring Jon Lord, Linde Lindström, Jason Newsted, Nicko McBrain)
Black Sabbath - 'Anno Mundi'
Tony Iommi featuring G. Hughes - 'Let it Down Easy' (first time on CD)
Ian Gillan - 'Hole in My Vest' (7“ vinyl single B-side, first time on CD)
Gillan & Glover featuring Dr.John - 'Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me'
Ian Gillan & The Javelins - 'Can I Get A Witness'
Garth Rockett & The Moonshiners aka IG - 'No Laughing In Heaven' (rare track)
Ian Gillan - 'When A Blind Man Cries' (Live at Absolute Radio, previously unreleased)
Deep Purple - 'Dick Pimple'