PDA

View Full Version : Your Top 5 Favourite Drummers

El Gordo
11-21-2010, 07:19 PM
I'm sure this has probably been done before, but not since I've been here, so have at it. I'm not talking about the BEST drummers necessarily, but your favourites.

DISCLAIMER - I am not a drummer. I have no formal or technical knowledge of drumming, percussion, etc. My best friend is a drummer and played in a band with me for 10+ years. I berated him constantly. As a guitarist it was my right. That said, I have mucho respect for the skinsmen.

1. Dave Lombardo (Slayer, Testament, Grip Inc., Fantomas, etc.) - Some ridiculously fast hands, and a master of the snare fill in a genre that generally relies on said fill a hell of a lot.

2. Neil Peart (Rush) - I'm assuming he'll be on a lot of lists. The flow, the technique, the super-serious unchanging face. He has it all and is seriously the best rock drummer ever.

3. Igor Cavalera (Sepultura) - Made a song as shitty as Roots Bloody Roots almost interesting. But seriously, Mass Hypnosis.

4. Bill Ward (Black Sabbath) - Did a hell of a lot with all those open spaces created by Iommi and Butler's riffage. Example: The Wizard.

5. Krzysztof "Doc" Raczkowski (Vader) - Maybe nothing spectacular as far as death metal drummers go, but he did some damn fine work on my favourite death metal tunes from my favourite death metal band. RIP.

daimonos
11-21-2010, 08:21 PM
I'll have to think really hard about this.

Sepultura69
11-21-2010, 08:38 PM
I'm sure this has probably been done before, but not since I've been here, so have at it. I'm not talking about the BEST drummers necessarily, but your favourites.

DISCLAIMER - I am not a drummer. I have no formal or technical knowledge of drumming, percussion, etc. My best friend is a drummer and played in a band with me for 10+ years. I berated him constantly. As a guitarist it was my right. That said, I have mucho respect for the skinsmen.