PDA

View Full Version : Why don't we have an icon?


illninoese
10-12-2009, 09:21 PM
I don't know how many people use Firefox in here, but most of the webpages that you got to have a little picture that pertains to the site that you are visiting. The picture shows up in the tabs too. Now I would love to see the metal guy that is in the website logo in that picture spot, but we just have a white piece of paper with the right top corner folded.......I mean I guess that's pretty metal in an extre.......actually no, I can't defend that.

Anyone else want to see if we can get this changed?

TonyD
10-12-2009, 09:35 PM
Yes.

mankvill
10-12-2009, 10:15 PM
I vote :fist:

rjturtle9
10-12-2009, 10:32 PM
I was thinking this exact thing a long time ago. We should get that guy in the logo up there.

DethMaiden
10-13-2009, 06:27 AM
I don't have icons on my toolbar. Must be a Mac thing. More room for bookmarks, at least.

b_halperin
10-13-2009, 06:31 AM
I guess it would be cool, is it easy to get one? or does it cost money?

illninoese
10-13-2009, 08:41 AM
Well since Firefox is OpenSource it should be free. We just need the picture and to have it embedded in the website code or whatever code is used to have those icons up there.

IrritatedTrout
10-13-2009, 08:50 AM
Cool idea.

ravenheart
10-13-2009, 09:09 AM
It's easy done. Just make a little square picture. JPG will do. Although if you want any kind of transpareny it'll have to be a GIF or a PNG. Rename the file favicon.ico.

Stick it in the root directory of the website. Job done.

Fires Of Sedition
10-19-2009, 12:45 AM
Stick it in the root directory of the website. Job done.

I have no idea how to do that..:eyes:

ravenheart
10-19-2009, 05:38 AM
You have to actually have access to your website to be able to do it. Lol.

It's the very top directory, whatever that's called. Same one "index.html" or "index.php or whatever your index page is called sits in.