PDA

View Full Version : Year-end list toppers from years past: still #1?

DethMaiden
08-17-2009, 04:15 PM
I've been making year-end lists on the IMBB and on here since 2004, so I decided to remember what I had at #1 each year and see if that's still true. I'm curious to see everyone else's, because I know most of us have been posting our lists to the internet for at least that long:

2004:
Then: Iced Earth- The Glorious Burden
Now: Mastodon- Leviathan

Leviathan was only my #2 when I made this list because I had only been into metal for a little over a year and was still pretty much steeped in the traditional stuff. Mastodon challenged some boundaries and I wasn't as comfortable with that as I was with Iced Earth, so Mastodon have certainly eclipsed them since.

2005:
Then: Opeth- Ghost Reveries
Now: Opeth- Ghost Reveries

Yeah, I'll stand behind this one. This one still has a special place as my first Opeth album, of course, which might be part of this, but it's a really great disc.

2006:
Then: Mastodon- Blood Mountain
Now: Mastodon- Blood Mountain/The Decemberists- The Crane Wife

I think Blood Mountain is still very, very close to dominating this year, but I'd argue that this Decemberists record is the best indie rock record ever made, and has a favorite all-time song of mine, "The Island", which doesn't hurt. Cop-out, but whatever.

2007:
Then: Porcupine Tree- Fear of a Blank Planet
Now: Porcupine Tree- Fear of a Blank Planet/Tegan and Sara- The Con

Another cop-out. Best prog album since the 1970s and best pop album (and second-best indie record) ever. Can't really choose.

2008:
Then: Fleet Foxes- Fleet Foxes
Now: Fleet Foxes- Fleet Foxes/Cynic- Traced in Air

Goddammit I've made this exercise useless with all these ties, but Cynic's grew on me. It doesn't mean as much to me as the Fleet Foxes, but it's certainly one of the better progressive metal albums I've ever heard.

powerslave_85
08-17-2009, 04:24 PM
I've only done it since 2005, but here goes:

2005: